Posted by: Jack | September 27, 2006

Mountain Biking in Washington is Pretty Cool

I had participated in a fair share of mt. biking back in La Crosse, WI but riding out here takes on a much more literal character. My ride today on Mt. Molly unexpectedly provided me with clear views of Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Olympus and Mt. Adams. Of course the photos I snapped do absolutely no justice to the views and Adams and Olympus are almost not visible in the images. I tried to do a bit of color adjustment to fix that but didn’t make much of an improvement.

Rainier of course was the nearest, tallest and most magnificient.

St. Helens always looks a little hazy but I think thats because the moutain is very grey.

Adams was quite clear to the naked eye but due to the distance, the camera barely picked it up. That white smudge is the snow cap.

The snow caps of Olympus were very bright but the mountain is not much taller than the surrounding Olympic mountains so you really can’t see it at all here.

For reference, here is a sattelite image with the mountains labeled. The ride itself consisted of about 1.5 hours of very steep uphill. I had to walk at least 2/3 of the way. Then I turned around and decended the same route in about 5 minutes and was fairly intimidated the whole time. Small ditches in the road from water run off kept sending me a few inches into the air which normally wouldn’t be a big deal. But at 30-40 mph I was really thinking that its time to buy some clipless petals.

Responses

  1. Hey Jack,

    I saw this clip being published thru woot.com as an entertaining YouTube item. I really thought at first it might be you. I figured you might dig seeing it, if you haven’t already. Enjoy!

  2. Hmm…seems the blog software didn’t like the embedded code. Here’s a link…



  3. Heck, I thought the extreme unicycling was wild, but check out this pogo stick action. cRaZy! Something for you to try next?




Leave a Reply

Categories

