Posted by: Jack | October 17, 2006

Carved Jack O Lantern

Anna and I made our way to a local pumpkin farm last weekend to pick our pumpkins fresh from the patch. After much deliberation regarding designs for our Jack O Lanterns, I decided to try my hand at doing a three dimensional carving. Originally I intended to try and portray Anna’s face since she was the only model I had on hand. About ten minutes into the project I decided it would be much more reasonable to make my best effort at creating any sort of human looking face. Nearing completion of the face and realizing that the level of depth was far too small I decided that I would enhance it with some less technical surroundings. All in all I’m pretty happy with the result. I figure its pretty good for a first try and I’ve learned a few tricks that should help next year. I decided to include a video because I couldn’t get a photo to show the depth well.

Once it gets dark tonight, we’ll put some candles in and I’ll get a photo of both of ours and post it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

