Posted by: Jack | June 30, 2007

Success in the Kitchen

When the daily craving for a midday meal rolled around today I decided to throw together a casserole using the first few items I could find in our cupboards and fridge. The end result turned out absolutely fabulous so I thought I would share the recipe:

  • Tri-color/flavor rotini (cooked as usual)
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • ~2 C shredded soft-ish cheese (anything yellow and mild should be fine)
  • 1/2 green bell pepper diced
  • 1 Can whole cooked green beans
  • 1 C chopped mushrooms
  • 1/4 C diced onion
  • Lemon pepper and garlic salt to taste
  • Some crackers

Put the cooked pasta in a casserole dish and cover with all the veggies, fungi and seasoning. Combine mushroom soup and cheese in a bowl and microwave until cheese melts and stir until well mixed. Pour over the casserole. Crumble some crackers over the top and bake at 325 for twenty minutes. Tremendous.

Just as I was getting ready to pop the casserole in the oven, Anna was taking out her lemon meringue cookies which she was preparing for a potluck we’ll be attending tomorrow. The luncheon is in honor of the completion of her year of service with the various clinics here in Olympia. It would seem that everyone who meets or works with Anna thinks as much of her as I do and they all are pretty sad to see her go. It is because of the fact that everyone knows that Anna is great at so many things, that I feel comfortable sharing a photograph of her meringues.

They certainly don’t look like much and to be honest they kind of taste like an over-cooked marshmallow with a lemon finish. Not her best work.

As Anna left home this evening to babysit, I suggested that I might try to whip something up that might reflect a bit better on our domestic abilities. I didn’t feel like trying to concoct something with our limited supplies at home so I went to the store to see what was on sale. I walked out with a watermelon, a cantaloupe, an orange and a bag of fresh local cherries. After an hour of labor which thoroughly covered the entire kitchen in various fruit juices I produced this (click image for better view):

I have to say that I’m pretty proud of this one and when Anna came home she was quite impressed and excited too. Notice that the design is optimal for both single and double-sided buffets. I’m now really looking forward to our arrival at the potluck tomorrow followed by the unveiling of my masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

Categories

