Posted by: Jack | July 9, 2007

Call Me a Nerd…

…because I’ve been watching a fair number of Star Trek episodes in the past few weeks. As I become more and more of a sci-fi buff I thought it only just that I pay homage to this iconic series by giving it a chance. I don’t think I could ever find interest in the original series with Kirk, Spock and the rest of the crew due to the extremely primitive special effects which were a great limiting factor in the variety of scenes and even plots which the show was able to explore. So instead of starting with the series which began and ended long before my generation, I have accordingly picked up with the later series; Star Trek: The Next Generation (TNG).

Disappointingly, I seem to be suffering from an appreciation inhibitor that is fairly common in my generation and those that follow. With computers reaching speeds which are capable of rendering images indistinguishable from reality (if the artists are good enough) I, and presumably many others, have come to expect nothing less and find older attempts at special effects often coming across as “cheesy”. When I found that TNG features such unimpressive effects I looked it up and was surprised to find that the first season initially aired twenty years ago (which in turn made me feel pretty old).

So as I’ve hinted, I’m finding this Star Trek series not living up to the reputation that has been building for decades on the shoulders of nerds.

I think the biggest let down so far has been the alien species encountered by the crew of the starship Enterprise. Every species is clearly humanoid (sometimes with unusual facial features) or else it’s a being composed purely of energy. With the extreme diversity of life found just on Earth, even among the more intelligent species, it seems that it would only be appropriate to expect aliens to appear entirely…well, alien. Oh, and everything in the universe speaks English too.

All sci-fi-buff based criticisms aside, the show makes for decent entertainment if the concepts presented are not placed under a microscope…or even a cheap magnifying lens for that matter. I’m just finding it hard to believe that so many people find such greatness in the series.

In other TV reviews, I recently criticized the show Man Vs. Wild for it’s questionable material after viewing the pilot episode. I’ve since watched a couple more episodes and found that the show has greatly improved. While the star still tends to over-dramatize most situations, one can hardly expect otherwise from TV show. In the more recent episodes I’ve learned a number of clever tips which are encouraging me to accidentally get stranded in the wilderness someday. Though the point that is made clear most often throughout the show is that if you are going to get stranded, make sure you do so with a knife, a flint and a water bottle.

Responses

  1. Jack, are you sure you’re not a Vulcan? You might want to try the original series… I imagine you would have quite an affinity with Spock. ; )


Leave a Reply

Categories

