Posted by: Jack | November 28, 2007

Guatemala – El Remate…Again

By mid-afternoon we were back in El Remate. It was a gorgeous day so I thought I would take some time to do some juggling; something I had yet to do on the trip. As I made my way for a public park on the water’s edge, I passed a political rally which seemed to have drawn in the entire town’s population. All throughout the trip, we had endured vehicles driving around with loud speakers blasting incomprehensible propaganda and this rally was basically the same thing but immobile.

I put on my headphones, turned towards the lake (away from the sun) and started in on an excellent juggling session. Despite a week without practice, my skills were extremely “on”. Eventually a stray ball flew behind me and, turning around to get it, I found I had gathered an audience consisting of most of the children from the rally. I worked the crowd for awhile with some showy tricks, and as is typically the case, some of the kids eventually insisted on trying. This quickly turned into a competition to see who could throw my balls highest/farthest-away. With my best Spanish I attempted to recall my gear but eventually wound up one ball short. Thankfully, a couple of the teenagers in the group had a good idea of which little kid probably ran off with the ball and he was promptly tracked down and seemingly lectured by these older kids. It was a nice surprise to see young-ish locals making an effort to maintain good relations with the tourists who support their town.

After another sunset over the lake and dinner at Comedor Susana, we gave in to exhaustion and turned in early. Rising early the next morning we grabbed breakfast before taking another dip in the oddly warm lake.

We packed our gear and left El Remate on foot, heading for the Ixlú ruins just a mile away. The view along this short jaunt was quite acceptable.

These ruins are a relatively recent discovery and almost no progress has been made on unearthing the numerous structures so the site paled in comparison to Tikal, but it was still a nice little hike through the woods. Returning to the main road we caught a bus headed for Santa Elena.

Light orange line on the Progress Map

Next: Flores to San Pedro on Lago de Atitlán

Responses

  1. […] Next: El Remate to Flores […]

  2. […] Guatemala – El Remate…AgainBy mid-afternoon we were back in El Remate. It was a gorgeous day so I thought I would take some time to do some juggling; something I had yet to do on the trip. As I made my way for a public park on the water’s edge, … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

