Posted by: Jack | November 29, 2007

ISP Tip

I just got off the phone with Comcast Cable services. In attempting to share a connection via wireless router with the neighbors, I’ve found myself spending more time trying to get connected than actually being connected.

So when calling Comcast to get our own connection, I was fully prepared to tell them that I would not pay the $100 “installation” fee. Last year it was $50 and even that is ridiculous. With the appropriate cables already installed — as they are in most homes — the installation consists of attaching the cable modem and relaying the modems address to Comcast. They try to justify the installation costs by giving the technician some pointless tasks like setting up Comcast email and other unnecessary software on the customer’s computer. Technically a computer isn’t even needed to initiate a cable modem connection.

So while speaking with the sales person I simply said, “I am reasonably well educated in the details of networking. I know that the installation process and outrageous fee is a huge scam and I do not want any Comcast software installed on my computer anyway.” Fully prepared to continue after the representative replied with some scripted response, I was happily surprised to hear, “Okay then, we’ll just go ahead and give you half off of the installation fee.”

This leads me to believe that Comcast informs their salespersons that this is a scam and instructs them to accommodate customers who know this to be true, rather than have so many customers get fed up with the ripoff that it becomes exposed to a majority of customers.

So next time you find yourself subscribing to internet services, just tell them you’re not going to pay the installation fee. If enough people do this, the ISPs may have to start offering free installation altogether; something which I suspect would be common if broadband ISPs didn’t have natural monopolies.

Responses

  1. So next time you find yourself subscribing to internet services, just tell them you’re not going to pay the installation fee


Leave a Reply

Categories

