Posted by: Jack | March 27, 2008

My Latest Thing On Two Wheels

Came across it yesterday on craigslist and a couple hours later, it was mine. It’s an older Raleigh Technium frame with otherwise new or new-ish components. It seems the standard thing to do here would be to list all of the component specs but I don’t really care about that and odds are, neither do you. Here are some pictures though:

Note the clipless pedals (although this term makes sense based on its origins — pedals which attach to your shoes without toe-clips — it’s an annoying current usage because pedals which seem to clip to you shoes are referred to as clipless) which also have a platform construction so I don’t have to wear bike shoes.

Apparently this saddle is pretty nice.

The appeal of a bike like this is the low weight which is partially a result of minimal componentry.

Doing away with deraillieurs leaves only two gearing options (unless of course you have an internal gear hub)…and this bike has both! The two options are single-speed free-wheel (much like on a BMX or most kids bikes) or fixed-gear (like on my unicycles). This duality is accomplished by whats called a flip-flop hub. Flipping between the two options just requires flopping the wheel around.

After a day’s riding on the fixed gear I’ve still got plenty of free-wheel habits that need to be broken before they get me into trouble.

Finally I’m not putting all my energy into overcoming friction with the ground. This ride is solid, smooth, fast and entirely silent.

Responses

  1. […] Flashbacks of Winter While out photographing my new bike yesterday, I took some time to capture a few shots of the many flowering things in the […]

  2. Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab. After the accident I found out about two other cyclists who suffered hip fractures because they couldn’t release from their pedals.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.


Leave a Reply

Categories

