Posted by: Jack | May 18, 2008

Bike Upgrade #1 – Final Stage – Assembly and Taping

Just finished putting everything together and I’m quite happy with the result. Total cost: $14. Except for the tape, all re-used parts.

You may notice that the brake cable tube stay (I don’t know if that’s what it’s called but it makes sense) at the far right of the picture looks a little odd. That’s because it’s the entirely wrong component. But, I needed something there until I find the right part or else the brake would not function. With the added feature of drops in my handlebars I should be able to cut down my wind-resistance by a fair amount, thus making this bike an even more absurdly easy ride.

On Friday I also purchased a bike-accessory upgrade; a purchase I should have made a long time ago:

For a lot less than I expected to pay, strapping this thing on is like night and day when compared to my old skate-style helmet. Way lighter, way cooler and significantly flashier.

Responses

  1. You are a paragon of streamlinedness (don’t know if that’s even a word).


Leave a Reply

Categories

