Posted by: Jack | May 13, 2009

400 Down, 103 To Go

It’s been about two months since I signed up for Reach the Beach, a 103 mile ride from Portland to the coast, which I’ll be completing on unicycle along with three other bastards. Among commutes to work, random errands and longer recreational rides, I’ve traveled just over 400 miles on my new Nimbus Nightrider Pro 36 ISIS. And all that “training” is really paying off. I’ve increased my comfortable cruising speed to about 13 mph (pretty fast for uni) and given my groin plenty of fair warning of the saddle soreness to come.

As of Monday I’m officially tapering (riding my bike to work) so all that’s left to do is wake up really early on Saturday, jump on my uni and turn the pedals 57,733 times.


Responses

  1. Congratulations, Jack! You did it!! We’re proud of your effort and achievement. The bigger challenge may be getting out of bed this morning!

    Love,
    Mom


Leave a comment

Categories